The Fragrance Foundation intends to pay tribute to artistic perfumery and their creators trough the creation of a committee dedicated to independent ("indie") fragrance brands. The mission of this new committee is to support and celebrate the excellence, artistry and craftsmanship of these perfumes, as well as to address their specific concerns, said the U.S. organisation in a release.

"While niche fragrances have always been recognized at the annual FiFi® Awards," explains Rochelle Bloom, President of The Fragrance Foundation, "we are keen to find a way to encourage more niche/independent submissions, reaching out to the smaller, successful, entrepreneurial brands not supported by a large company."

The new committee will lay down the procedures for submissions and judging criteria for the "Indie" category that will be awarded at the next FiFi ceremony in 2012.

The Fragrance Foundation defines an “indie” brand as a brand that has been on the market for at least two years and is distributed in 1 to 25 doors.

From left to right : 34 boulevard Saint Germain, Eau de Parfum, by...

From left to right : 34 boulevard Saint Germain, Eau de Parfum, by Diptyque, Portrait of a Lady, Eau de Parfum, by Frederic Malle, Sweet Redemption, Eau de Parfum, by Kilian

Members of the "Indie" Fragrance Committee include:
Mandy Aftel (Aftelier Perfumes),
Arnaud Adrian (Robertet), Rochelle Bloom (The Fragrance Foundation), Frederick Bouchardy (Joya Studio), Karl Bradl (Aedes de Venustas), Virginia Bonofiglio (Fashion Institute of Technology), Denise Capozzalo (Barneys), Victoria Frolova (Bois de Jasmin), Mary Ellen Lapsansky (The Fragrance Foundation), Carrie Meredith (Eyeliner on a Cat), Ralf Schwieger (Mane).