Fabrice Pellegrin, Principal Perfumer and Director of Natural Product Innovation at Firmenich, has received the 14th François Coty Award for his career. He was presented with the award during an evening on December 2nd at the Lutetia Hotel in Paris, organized by the François Coty Association and chaired by the legendary perfumer’s descendant, Véronique Spoturno-Coty.

The six perfumers in the jury, themselves winners of the François Coty Award between 2000 and 2019, rewarded their counterpart for his creativity. The jury was composed of Émilie Coppermann (Symrise), Jean Guichard (Givaudan), Sophie Labbé (Firmenich), Alberto Morillas (Firmenich), Dominique Ropion (IFF) and Maurice Roucel (Symrise), and chaired by interior architect and designer Tristan Auer. Together, they evaluated the olfactory signatures of 12 fragrances (three per candidate) during several sessions. Fabrice Pellegrin distinguished himself through “his creative universe as well as his perfect technical mastery.”

Fabrice Pellegrin has notably signed Wanted (Azzaro), Sound of the Brave (Diesel), Sur L’Herbe (L’Artisan Parfumeur), Eau de Minthé (Diptyque), So Scandal! (Jean Paul Gaultier).

Honorary Award for Christopher Sheldrake

The jury also honoured Christopher Sheldrake, who received the François Coty Honorary Award from his friend master perfumer Maurice Roucel. The Honorary Award rewards a creative perfumer whose career has greatly contributed to enhance olfactory creation.

Christopher Sheldrake created perfumes for Chanel, Shiseido, Serge Lutens, Rochas, Avon and SpaceNK.

The awards ceremony was also an opportunity to celebrate 100 years of Emeraude, one of François Coty’s iconic perfumes. Furthermore, an auction raised 17,000 euros for the benefit of the association Les Amis d´Arthur.