Finalists of this year’s Innovation Zone and Green Ingredient Awards of in-cosmetics Global have been disclosed. The awards will be announced on 6 October - the opening day of the inaugural in-cosmetics Virtual, at 16:30 (GMT).

Innovation Zone: “Best Active Ingredient”

The skincare sector has been recognised as one of the most resilient categories during the pandemic, a step change from the lipstick index established during previous recessions. It is, therefore, no surprise to see new skincare ingredients leading the pack in the Innovation Zone - Active category. Twelve companies have been recognised in this year’s shortlist with Clariant Active, Lucas Meyer Cosmetics and Vytrus Biotech scooping two nominations each.

The Best Active Ingredient Award shortlist includes:

- Algaktiv SL - Algaktiv BodySKN
- Chemyunion - Cellfie
- Clariant Active Ingredients - Rootness Energize
- Clariant Active Ingredients - Prenylium
- Codif Technologies - EPS Seapur
- Givaudan Active - K-phyto [SC] Camellia
- Lipoid Kosmetik AG - PhytoCodine
- LipoTrue - Reneseed
- Lucas Meyer Cosmetics - Hydrosella
- Lucas Meyer Cosmetics - Inst’Tense
- Mibelle Biochemistry - Alpine Rose Active
- Odycea - Jade Alga
- Silab - Lactobiotyl
- Vytrus Biotech - Kannabia Sense
- Vytrus Biotech - Deobiome Noni

Innovation Zone Award: “Best Functional Ingredient”

From skincare and suncare to haircare and decoratives, the nominees for the Best Functional Ingredient span a range of sectors and product categories. The shortlist includes:

- AH & NS - Re:Laméil
- Ashland - Antaron Eco Gel
- Cargill Beauty - StarDesign Power
- Chemyunion - Sensoveil Soft
- Clariant - Velsan Flex
- Döhler GmbH - YuraQ M
- Dow - SunSpheres BIO SPF
- Evonik Nutrition & Care GmbH - TEGO Remo 95 MB
- Gattefossé - Emulium Dolcea MB
- Givaudan Active Beauty - New Red 1805
- Oleon - Radiasurf ML10
- Sensient Cosmetic Technologies - Natpure XFine range
- Stepan - Stepanquat Soleil
- Sudarshan - Prestige Silver Glow
- Symrise AG - SymEffect Sun.

The judges of the Innovation Zone Awards are: Muriel Pujos, Pharm D, Technical and Scientific Director Skin Care, Coty; Dr. Andrea Mitarotonda PhD, FRSC, Independent Consultant in Cosmetic Chemistry; Belinda Carli, Director/Cosmetic Chemist, Institute of Personal Care Science; Zalina Wälchli, Entrepreneur, Zalina Wälchli International; Dr Barbara Brockway, Director - Personal Care, AppliedDNA Sciences; Fernanda Motta Scientific Communication Manager, Laboratorios Maverick; and Alex Fisher, Associate Director - Beauty & Personal Care, Mintel.

Green Ingredient Award

Announced in partnership with Ecovia Intelligence, the Green Ingredient Award will honour innovations that are championing sustainability in the personal care and beauty market.

The full shortlist includes:

- BASF Beauty Care Solutions - Hyalufix GL BC100095
- Cargill Beauty - FiberDesign Sensation
- Cirebelle - CireNat Rice Bran Exfoliating Spheres
- Forestwise - Illipe butter
- Henry Lamotte Oils GmbH - Paradise Nut Oil/Magdalena River Nut Oil
- Lessonia - C+eRAMIDE
- Mibelle Biochemistry - Black BeeOme
- Minasolve SAS - A-Leen Aroma-3
- Sensient Cosmetic Technologies - Natpure Xtra Longevity
- SEPPIC - Sepifine BB.

The judges are: Amarjit Sahota, Founder, Ecovia Intelligence; Tom Hornshøj-Møller, Technical Consultant and ex-R&D Manager, Urtekram; Robin Parker, Technical Director, Acheson & Acheson; Jean-Florent Campion, Research & Innovation, L’Oreal; and Judi Beerling, Technical Research Manager, Ecovia Intelligence / Pertech Associates.

We are continually inspired to see the resilience and innovation demonstrated by the personal care and cosmetics industry. Although it’s disappointing not to be able to honour these incredible ingredients in person, I’m looking forward to finding out who is awarded the Gold, Silver and Bronze titles in a new virtual format this October,” said Roziani Zulkifli, Exhibition Director for in-cosmetics Global.

Also read our special edition of the latest cosmetic ingredient launches or download the pdf version here.