The ‘Better with Less - Design Challenge’ 2019–2020 packaging design competition opens for entries. Organised by Metsä Board, the European producer of premium fresh fibre paperboards, the competition’s aim is to inspire designers to create more environmentally-friendly packaging solutions for e-commerce, cosmetics and food.

Submissions in the four categories: cosmetics, e-commerce, food packaging and a ‘wild card’ category, are open now until 5 January, 2020 at The competition invites professional packaging designers, as well as packaging design students, from all over the world to submit entries.

Metsä Board's Better with Less – Design Challenge is an initiative to inspire...

Metsä Board’s Better with Less – Design Challenge is an initiative to inspire packaging designers all over the world to create packaging solutions that create better brand experiences with less environmental impact.

The main prize for the Better with Less - Design Challenge is EUR 7,000, with the second prize EUR 2,000 and the third prize EUR 1,000. Additionally, Metsä Board will award one design student with the opportunity for an internship with its packaging design team at its Excellence Centre in Äänekoski, Finland. The winners will be announced in spring 2020.

The Better with Less – Design Challenge was first launched by Metsä Board in 2017-2018, with great success – over 300 packaging designs from 38 countries were submitted. The winning design found a truly innovative, environmentally friendly cardboard alternative to plastic bubble wrap. The winners of the previous edition can be seen here: Winners 2017-2018.

A world-class jury of renowned packaging design experts includes: Alissa Demorest, Chief Editor of luxury packaging magazine Formes de Luxe; Andrew Gibbs, Founder, CEO & Chief Editor of The Dieline; Charles Ng, Founder & Chief Brand Consultant of MCL Group Hong Kong / China; Clark Goolsby, Chief Creative Officer of Chase Design Group; and Stefan Junge, Professor in Packaging Technology at Beuth University of Applied Sciences Berlin. The chairman, and member of the competition jury, is Ilkka Harju, Packaging Services Director, EMEA and APAC at Metsä Board.