Launched launched in November last year, the international packaging design competition Better with Less - Design Challenge, organised by Metsä Board, was created to find new environmentally-friendly and functional packaging solutions for some of the World’s most frequently used and fastest growing types of consumer packages.

Cyril Drouet, Design & Innovation Director, Metsä Board, and chairperson of the competition jury

A total of 302 design concepts entered from 38 different countries participated in the first phase, which closed at the end of March 2018.

The competition jury included several renowned packaging design experts who now have selected the following ten finalists:

 Janne Asikainen (Koepala Cup Pocket™)
 Jeroen Caelen (Plastic banning toilet roll)
 Abdullah Cam (Moisture Face Creme Cosmetic Package)
 Insik Chung (ECO cake tray)
 Alessandro Grossi (Playing nature)
 Gerlinde Gruber (Fune - Sushi take-away)
 Sī Míng Guì (A scarf which can be turned into a hanger)
 Yukihiro Hozumi (Paperboard pocket tissue case)
 Pawel Krawczugo (Twist)
 Iiro Numminen (Stretching inner part)

The chairperson of the competition jury, Cyril Drouet, Design & Innovation Director, Metsä Board, summarised the feedback from the other jury members: “We were very impressed with the variety and quantity of entries from so many countries. This truly shows how designers across the world are genuinely engaged in driving a change for more sustainable packaging. It’s encouraging to see so many fresh approaches designed to replace traditional plastic packaging with renewable materials, such as paperboard.

The main prize for the Better with Less – Design Challenge is EUR 10,000. The competition was also open to students, and Metsä Board will be offering an additional prize of an internship for one student with its packaging services team in Shanghai. The overall winner and winner of the student internship will be announced by end of May 2018.

All the ten finalists are featured on the competition website, and there is also an opportunity for the public to vote for their favourites.